Your basket

Join The FSA

Agüero scores again with FSF Player of the Year

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

Sergio Agüero was the big winner at last night’s (Monday 1st December) Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill, winning the fans’ vote for Player of the Year.

The Manchester City hit man held off competition from Eden Hazard, Branislav Ivanovic, Morgan Schneiderlin, Raheem Sterling and Yaya Toure.

Picking up his award, Agüero said:

“I’m happy to receive this award from the fans, very happy. It’s a really special award as it’s from the supporters and I’d also like to take this opportunity to thanks everyone at the club. Not just the players but the coaching staff and technical team as well.”

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the FSF, said:

“Sergio is in phenomenal form, he’s a worthy winner in an exceptionally talented field. He was the clear winner of the fans’ vote and a player we can all admire.”

Kristof Fahy, Chief Marketing Officer at William Hill, said:

“Sergio has been sensational this year and he is the deserved winner of the FSF Player of the Year Award. He has brought a wow-factor to our game – and that’s why he is such a fans favourite.”

Aguero was joined by hundreds of fans, journalists and club representatives to salute the best in the business across a range of categories including Pundit and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year.

Sky Sports’ Gary Neville scooped Pundit of the Year, taking the prize from under the nose of his colleague Jamie Carragher.

Other winners on the night included Amy Lawrence who picked up Writer of the Year while Leeds United fanzine The Square Ball took home Fanzine of the Year.

Stoke City’s Anthony Emmerson won the inaugural Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year Award.

Almost 250,000 votes were cast in this year’s Awards. Last year Luis Suarez scooped the Player of the Year Award.

The winners of the 2014 FSF Awards in association with William Hill:

  • Away Day of the Year – Cardiff City
  • Blogger of the Year – Arseblog
  • Commentator of the Year – Martin Tyler
  • Fanzine of the Year – The Square Ball
  • Independent Website of the Year – Who Scored
  • Newspaper of the Year – The Guardian
  • Player of the Year – Sergio Agüero
  • Podcast/Radio of the Year – Football Weekly
  • Pundit of the Year – Gary Neville
  • Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year – Anthony Emmerson
  • Writer of the Year – Amy Lawrence

See a gallery of images at the FSF’s Facebook page:

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball