Your basket

Join The FSA

Aguero to stamp his authority on Player of the Year Award?

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

***Voting is now closed for the 2014 Awards and the winners will be announced Monday 1st December 2014***

The Football Supporters’ Federation is delighted to announce the shortlisted nominations for the 2014 FSF Awards, in association with William Hill, following a nominations process involving thousands of fans across the country. The Awards will take place on Monday 1st December 2014 in London.

There are a total of 66 shortlisted nominees across 11 different categories – including ‘Player of the Year’ which will be battled out by Sergio Aguero, Eden Hazard, Branislav Ivanovic, Morgan Schneiderlin, Raheem Sterling, and Yaya Toure.

But the feistiest category looks to be ‘Pundit of the Year’ with Sky Sports rivals Jamie Carragher and last year’s winner Gary Neville going head-to-head in a strong field which also includes TalkSport’s Stan Collymore, ITV’s Lee Dixon, and the BBC’s Gary Lineker and Robbie Savage.

Other awards up for grabs include ‘Away Day of the Year’, ‘Blogger of the Year’, ‘Commentator of the Year’, ‘Fanzine of the Year’, ‘Independent Website of the Year’, ‘Newspaper of the Year’, ‘Podcast/Radio Show of the Year’, and ‘Writer of the Year’.

There will also be a new award presented this year – ‘Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year’. Every Premier League and Football League club must appoint an SLO and this award will recognise those who’ve made themselves indispensable to their club’s fans.

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the FSF, said:

“The FSF Awards in association with William Hill are a great way for fans to reward the best in the game. Supporters are the bedrock of the professional game, so there’s no higher accolade than getting the nod from the fans.

“Luis Suarez took last year’s Player of the Year vote in a landslide victory, but this year looks a little tighter and form in the next few weeks could make all the difference. Fans can have their say and vote via”

Kristof Fahy, Chief Marketing Officer at William Hill, said:

“The FSF Awards represent the views of the most important people in the game – the fans, and we’re proud to be associated with this prestigious event.”

The FSF Awards in association with William Hill shortlists:

Player of the Year:

  • Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  • Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea)
  • Morgan Schneiderlin (Southampton)
  • Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)
  • Yaya Toure (Manchester City)

Blogger of the Year:

  • Arseblog (Andrew Mangan)
  • Beesotted (Various)
  • Copa 90 (Various)
  • The Premier League Owl (Seb Stafford-Bloor)
  • The Real FA Cup (Damon Threadgold/Simon Barnett)
  • Two Hundred Percent (Ian King)

Commentator of the Year:

  • Jon Champion (Absolute Radio)
  • Alan Green (BBC)
  • Conor McNamara (BBC)
  • Guy Mowbray (BBC)
  • Clive Tyldesley (ITV)
  • Martin Tyler (Sky Sports)

Fanzine of the Year:

  • A Love Supreme (Sunderland)
  • Duck (Stoke City)
  • Popular Stand (Doncaster Rovers)
  • Stand (Various)
  • The Square Ball (Leeds United)
  • United We Stand (Manchester United)

Independent Website of the Year:

  • The Anfield Wrap (Liverpool)
  • Fantasy Football Scout
  • The Inside Left
  • True Faith (Newcastle United)
  • The Two Unfortunates
  • WhoScored

Newspaper of the Year:

  • The Daily Mail
  • The Daily Mirror
  • The Daily Telegraph
  • The Guardian
  • The Independent
  • The Times

Podcast/Radio Show of the Year:

  • The Football Ramble
  • Football Weekly (The Guardian)
  • The Monday Night Club (BBC 5 Live)
  • The Sound of Football
  • The Tuesday Club with Alan Davies
  • The Warm Up (TalkSport)

Pundit of the Year:

  • Jamie Carragher (Sky Sports)
  • Stan Collymore (TalkSport)
  • Lee Dixon (ITV)
  • Gary Lineker (BBC)
  • Gary Neville (Sky Sports)
  • Robbie Savage (BBC)

Writer of the Year:

  • Tony Barrett (Times)
  • David Conn (Guardian)
  • Andy Dunn (Mirror)
  • Amy Lawrence (Observer)
  • Sam Wallace (Independent)
  • Henry Winter (Telegraph)

While the majority of categories focus on media matters, the Supporters Liaison Officer of the Year and Away Day of the Year awards are both reflective of the matchday experience. Both awards will be chosen by a specially convened FSF Awards Panel. The shortlists for these categories are:

Away Day of the Year:

  • Cardiff City
  • Hull City
  • Preston North End
  • Reading
  • Rotherham United
  • Wigan Athletic

Supporters Liaison Officer of the Year:

  • Birmingham City (Sarah Gould)
  • Crewe Alexandra (Beverley Dyer and Dave Tomlinson)
  • Everton (Christine Prior)
  • Stoke City (Anthony Emmerson)
  • Sunderland (Chris Waters)
  • Tottenham Hotspur (Jonathan Waite)

The FSF Awards in association with William Hill take place on the evening of Monday 1st December 2014 at St Pancras Renaissance Hotel (London). Nominees will be invited and a limited number of tickets will go on general sale. Details to be confirmed via


Related Articles

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

FSA Women’s Player of the Year 2019 nominees

Voting remains open in the FSA Awards 2019 in association with BeGambleAware, and the Women's Player of the Year is one of the most coveted titles up for grabs. Previous winners include the Arsenal pair of Beth Mead (2018) and Sari van Veenendaal (2016), and Man City's Jill Scott (2017).

Virgil Van Dijk named FSA Men’s Player of the Year

Liverpool centre-half Virgil Van Dijk has been crowned the Men’s Player of the Year at the 2019 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware.

FSA and Sports Ground Safety Authority team up to promote fan engagement

The Football Supporters’ Association and the Sports Ground Safety Authority (SGSA) have teamed up to promote the importance of Safety Advisory Group (SAG) engagement with fans.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball
  • SD Europe