Your basket

Join The FSA

Alexis Sanchez wins FSF 2015 Player of the Year award

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez will be named Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill, which takes place tonight in London.

Sanchez topped the fans’ vote, holding off stiff competition from runner-up Jamie Vardy. Sergio Aguero, David De Gea, Harry Kane and John Stones made up the rest of the shortlist.

180,000 votes were cast in this year’s Awards – previous winners of the FSF Player of the Year include Luis Suarez (2013) and Sergio Aguero (2014).

Alexis Sanchez said:

“I’m delighted to receive the FSF Player of the year award. Personally, it’s been a great 2015 for me on the pitch with both my club and country.”

“Arsenal have enjoyed a good start to the season and it was disappointing to pick up this injury. But I‘m hoping to be back soon to help my team mates have another successful year.”

His club manager, Arsene Wenger, said: “Alexis has had a great 2015 – winning the FA Cup with us and the Copa America with Chile.

“He has made a huge impact on English football since his arrival at the Emirates and I’m very happy that his skill, ability and dedication has been recognised by football fans across the country.”

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the Football Supporters’ Federation, said:

“Alexis is a fantastic player who has lit up the Premier League since arriving in 2014. He’s a constant threat and played a huge role in helping Arsenal win the FA Cup last season, including a goal in the final.

“He’s scored almost a goal every other game since joining Arsenal, but it isn’t just his ability which has won over opposition fans, it’s also an innate toughness which British fans admire too.

“Thierry Henry called him Arsenal’s best signing of the past six years – and we certainly wouldn’t disagree. He’s a worthy winner of the FSF Player of the Year Award 2015.”

The FSF Awards in association with William Hill will take place tonight (Monday 7th December 2015, 7pm-11pm) at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel (London) where the winners in 10 other categories will be announced.

New Valencia boss Gary Neville goes head-to-head with his Sky Sports colleague Jamie Carragher in the Pundit of the Year category. They are up also against Danny Murphy, Pat Nevin, Paul Scholes and Ian Wright.

Other categories voted on by the public are Commentator of the Year, Newspaper of the Year, Podcast of the Year, Radio Show of the Year and Writer of the Year.

An FSF Awards Panel will decide the Away Day of the Year, Blogger of the Year, Fanzine of the Year and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year.

UEFA guidelines dictate that every club must appoint a Supporter Liaison Officer and SLO of the Year will reward the person who’s gone the extra mile for their club’s fan base.

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

32-year safe standing campaign finally wins!

The Football Supporters’ Association (FSA) was contacted last night by the Sports Ground Safety Association (SGSA), who told us that the option for football clubs to offer licensed standing at all levels of the game in England and Wales has at last been passed into official Government policy.

FSA statement: Player protests at Qatar 2022

After FIFA clamped down on the “One Love” armbands at the 2022 World Cup, various national teams have been exploring ways to support the LGBT+ community during the tournament – most notably Germany before their game against Japan yesterday.

Vote for your save of the season in the Safe Hands Award

As part of our partnership with BeGambleAware, safer gambling ambassador and former England goalkeeper David James has selected a shortlist of six of the best saves from the past 12 months for the Safe Hands Award.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball