Your basket

Join The FSA
Ian Mearns

© UK Parliament

APPG for Football Supporters chair steps down as MP

With the Government’s announcement of a General Election many MPs have decided to step down. We wanted to thank those who have served on the FSA’s All-Party Parliamentary Group for Football Supporters – in particular the outgoing chair Ian Mearns.

The APPG was set up in 2015 “to represent the interests of match-going football fans and to support the aims and objectives of the FSA” and Ian has been the group’s chair from day one.

As a Newcastle United season ticket holder he always “got” the issues and put supporters first – working in a genuine cross-party manner with MPs from all sides to make things better and help the Government understand the problems that matchgoers face.

Ian has supported us in Parliament on (deep breath) – safe standing, football governance / independent regulator, policing issues in Paris for Liverpool fans, broadcast problems, lower league issues, the women’s game, football’s relationship with gambling, our Fans for Diversity campaign and more.

During his time as chair of the APPG there has been very real progress on many of those issues with safe standing now legal and massive growth in the women’s game.

In 2022 Ian said: “Football clubs are not commodities to be traded and risked, they are pillars in the communities in which they sit; many having been part of their towns and cities for over a century. An independent regulator is essential to safeguard the future of football in the UK.”

Ian’s had a big focus on the need for an independent regulator in recent years and has supported various FSA initiatives in Parliament to that end, lobbying the Government on many occasions.

Thank you Ian!

And thanks to all our APPG members…

We’d also like to extend our thanks to all members who served on our APPG during the last Parliament. While some have chosen to step down, many others are standing for re-election and, should they win, we look forward to working with them in the new Parliament.

  • Alan Brown (SNP)
  • Alex Norris (Labour)
  • Bill Esterson (Labour)
  • Chi Onwurah (Labour)
  • Chris Green (Conservative)
  • Chris Stephens (SNP)
  • Clive Betts (Labour)
  • Clive Efford (Labour)
  • Damian Collins (Conservative)
  • Damian Green (Conservative)
  • Dan Carden (Labour)
  • Dawn Butler (Labour)
  • Derek Twigg (Labour)
  • Dr Rosena Allin-Khan (Labour)
  • Gareth Thomas (Labour)
  • Gavin Newlands (SNP)
  • George Galloway (Workers Party of Britain)
  • Grahame Morris (Labour)
  • Ian Blackford (SNP)
  • Ian Byrne (Labour)
  • Ian Lavery (Labour)
  • Ian Mearns (Labour)
  • Ian Murray (Labour)
  • James Sunderland (Conservative)
  • Jamie Stone (Liberal Democrats)
  • Jason McCartney (Conservative)
  • Jeff Smith (Labour)
  • Jo Stevens (Labour)
  • John Cryer (Labour)
  • Jonathan Reynolds (Labour)
  • Julie Elliot (Labour)
  • Justin Madders (Labour)
  • Justin Tomlinson (Conservative)
  • Kate Hollern (Labour)
  • Lord Collins of Highbury (Labour)
  • Lord David Triesman (Labour)
  • Lord Faulkner (Labour)
  • Lord Goddard of Stockport (Liberal Democrats)
  • Lord Taylor of Warwick (Non-affiliated)
  • Mark Eastwood (Conservative)
  • Marsha De Cordova (Labour)
  • Matt Western (Labour)
  • Mike Amesbury (Labour)
  • Owen Thompson (SNP)
  • Paula Barker (Labour)
  • Rachel Hopkins (Labour)
  • Richard Burgon (Labour)
  • Richard Holden (Conservative)
  • Rosie Cooper (Labour)
  • Sharon Hodgson (Labour)
  • Stephen Morgan (Labour)
  • Toby Perkins (Labour)
  • Tracey Crouch (Conservative)

The FSA is by fans, for fans – join for free here…

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball