Your basket

Join The FSA

David James and Tony Kempster win FSF awards

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

Portsmouth and England keeper David James has been presented with the Football Supporters’ Federation’s Football Writer of the Year 2008 award.

FSF Chair Malcolm Clark and FSF National Council members Ken Malley, Pam Wilkins and Monica Hartland presented James with his trophy on the Fratton Park pitch prior to Pompey’s Premier League fixture with Stoke City.

It was a memorable afternoon for all concerned, but, thanks to James and his team-mates, it was particularly sweet for Pompey fans Malley and Wilkins, as Portsmouth won 2-1.

But not even the increasingly familiar taste of defeat could sour the day for Stoke City die-hards Hartland and Clarke.

FSF Chairman Malcolm Clarke said:“Thanks to everybody at Portsmouth FC for all their help in making the presentation possible – it was a pleasure to present David with his award on behalf of our members.”

Tony Kempster, who for more than a decade has run an acclaimed football website from his home in York, has also won the annual Services to Supporters award from the FSF, which is given each year to people who have performed an outstanding service to the benefit of football supporters.

Tony’s website provides unmatched information on results, gates, tables, fixtures and even distances to grounds, from the Premier League right down to step seven of the football pyramid.

The site is an invaluable source of information for thousands of football fans each week and carries a huge amount of information which no other site can match.

Related Articles

Beat the Break: David James joins safer gambling campaign

During this week's international break, former England international David James will be helping football fans across the country overcome their boredom in a bid to stop them making impulsive bets.

“Embracing supporter culture” – 2018 SLO of the Year Tony Barrett

Every year at the FSF Awards we celebrate the Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year award, a prize that aims to promote the best supporter liaison work that goes on around the country – and we spoke to this year’s winner, Tony Barrett, about his transformational work at Liverpool.

A letter to supporters from EFL chief executive David Baldwin

On Friday the chief executive of the EFL, David Baldwin, wrote an open letter to football fans ahead of the weekend’s test events which saw fans return to live football for the first time across the three divisions since March…

Mohamed Salah and Beth Mead win supporters’ accolades

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was named Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in partnership with Virgin Media, which took place tonight in London.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • SD Europe