Your basket

Join The FSA

Football League Awards 2011

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

Sunday evening saw the glitz and glamour of the 2011 Football League Awards, and it wasn’t just players and clubs that took home the honours. Kevin Monks, Coventry City fan and vice-president of the Football Supporters’ Federation, was presented with the npower Fan of the Year Award in front of guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry.

On-field awards went to Adel Taraabt (QPR, npower Player of the Year – Championship), Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough United, npower Player of the Year – League 1), and Ryan Lowe (Bury, npower Player of the Year – League 2). Ipswich Town’s Connor Wickam picked up the Football League’s Young Player of the Year Award.

Crewe Alexandra legend Dario Gradi MBE received a much deserved Contribution to League Football Awards. Gradi was manager at Crewe from 1983-2007, an astonishing 24 years, and has recently been reappointed caretaker manager. During his time at Crewe countless young talents came through the youth set-up including future internationals such as David Platt, Neil Lennon, Robbie Savage, Dean Ashton, and Rob Jones.

Established in 2006, the Football League Awards is an annual event which celebrates excellence both on and off-the-pitch. This means fans such as Kevin Monks are recognised alongside players, managers, and clubs. There are also awards for good community work, unsung heroes, matchday programmes, and more.

On winning his award Kevin (pictured right with npower’s Kevin Miles) said: “It is absolutely unbelievable to get this award. Just to be invited to the ceremony was great so to actually win it, is unbelievable. I must have been to about 3,500 Coventry games including the reserves and ladies teams over the years but this is something else.”

Kevin is not only a fanatical fan but a dedicated volunteer at Coventry City too. He is now in his 41st season as a Sky Blues fan – attending reserve, academy, ladies, and friendly games in addition to every first team game. He has also served on the Coventry Charity Cup Committee which gives thousands each year to nominated charities and brings match reports to fans around the world via Covsupport News Service.


npower Fan of the Year
Kevin Monks (Coventry City supporter)
npower League 1 winner – Diana Lee (Exeter City supporter)
npower League 2 winner – Hannah Beard (Southend United supporter)

The Football League Family Club of the Year
Cardiff City
League 1 winner – Dagenham & Redbridge
League 2 winner – Oxford United

Football Manager Apprentice of the Year – npower League 2
Kadeem Harris (Wycombe Wanderers)

Football Manager Apprentice of the Year – npower League 1
Dale Jennings (Tranmere Rovers)

Football Manager Apprentice of the Year – npower Championship
Connor Wickham (Ipswich Town)

EA SPORTS Outstanding Team Performance
Stevenage (Stevenage 3-1 Newcastle United 1: FA Cup Round 3, January 2011)

Tokio Marine Best Marketing Campaign
Reading (for their ‘Engaging Female Supporters’ campaign)
Best League 1 Campaign: Colchester United (‘The Colchester United Voucher Scheme’)
Best League 2 Campaign: Southend United (‘Thriller Campaign’)

Bluefin Unsung Hero
Jim Thompson (Turnstile Supervisor, Burnley)
Highly Commended:
Norman Rimmington (Laundry Team, Barnsley)
Bill Edmans (Kit Man, Dagenham & Redbridge)
Mary Kitson (Cleaning Supervisor, Sheffield Wednesday)

CSI Sports Best Matchday Programme
Middlesbrough (for ‘REDSQUARE’)
Best League 1 Programme: Swindon Town
Best League 2 Programme: Rotherham United (‘The Millers’)

PFA Player in the Community
Darren Moore (Burton Albion)
Highly Commended: Aaron Mokoena (Portsmouth)

Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year
Southend United (‘Blues Bodycare’ health project)
Highly Commended:
AFC Bournemouth – ‘Green Goals’ environment project
Dagenham & Redbridge – ‘Daggers Sign-Up Against Racism’ social inclusion project
Derby County – ‘The Movement’ sports participation project
Queens Park Rangers – ‘Downs Syndrome Tiger Cubs’ disability project
Stevenage – ‘Kick Start Money Skills’ education project

The Football League Young Player of the Year
Connor Wickham (Ipswich Town)

npower Player of the Year – League 2
Ryan Lowe (Bury)

npower Player of the Year – League 1
Craig Mackail-Smith (Peterborough United)

npower Player of the Year – Championship
Adel Taraabt (Queens Park Rangers)

Contribution to League Football
Dario Gradi MBE (Crewe Alexandra)

Join the FSF for free today from this link.

The Football Supporters’ Federation on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter – @The_FSF

Related Articles

North West Football Awards 2022

Voting for the Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) is open, giving supporters in the region the chance to vote across a range of categories in the men’s and women’s game.

Nominations open for the 2021 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards in partnership with GambleAware are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open.

FSA Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The Football Supporters’ Association is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2021 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites here. 84 candidates will battle it out across 14 categories, recognising everything from the best players of 2021 to the best podcasts and fanzines.

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball