Your basket

Join The FSA

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

With almost 400,000 votes cast, the FSA Awards are the largest supporter-led awards in the UK and Salah topped the fans’ vote, holding off competition from Chelsea’s Mason Mount, Man City pair Phil Foden and Rúben Dias, West Ham United’s Michail Antonio and Leicester City’s Youri Tielemans.

Salah is the fourth Liverpool player to scoop the award in 11 years and the first to win our Men’s Player of the Year award on two occasions. Previous winners of the FSA Men’s Player of the Year include Bruno Fernandes, Virigl van Dijk and Harry Kane.

Mohamed Salah said:

“I’m honoured to be the first player to win this award twice. I would like to thank the organisers and all the football fans who voted for me.”

Kevin Miles, chief executive of the Football Supporters’ Association, said:

“There’s no doubt Mohamed is having another incredible year, the number and quality of his goals have once again lit up English football and contributed to Liverpool’s title push.

“As well as his on-field ability, Mohamed’s character has won support from fans across the game and he was a clear favourite among the voting public.”

Zoe Osmond, chief executive of BeGambleAware, said:

“We are pleased to be supporting the FSA Awards once again this year and in doing so, working together to encourage everyone to ‘tap out & take a moment’ before making a bet. Our partnership with the FSA is an important one as we work together to keep football fans and players safe from gambling harms.

“We offer our congratulations to all the winners and shortlisted nominees in this year’s awards who have enthralled and entertained supporters across this season.”

Elsewhere Alex Scott picked up the trophy for Pundit of the Year for the first time – becoming the first woman to win the award – beating previous winners Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville.

The Women’s Player of the Award was won by Arsenal’s Vivienne Miedema. This is the third year in a row that the Dutch forward has won the popular vote in the Women’s Player of the Year category. Miedema saw off competition from Chelsea pair Fran Kirby and Sam Kerr, Ellen White, Ella Toone and Kim Little.

In total 10 categories were open to a public vote, including the player and pundit categories, while four awards (Club Podcast, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year) were decided by an FSA panel.

The winners of the 2021 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware:

Men’s Player of the Year:
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year:
Vivienne Miedema (Arsenal)

Fan Media of the Year:

Club Podcast of the Year:
It’s All Cobblers To Me

Commentator of the Year:
Peter Drury

Fans for Diversity Award:
Punjabi Rams

Fanzine of the Year:
A Love Supreme

Newspaper of the Year:
The Guardian

Online Media of the Year:
The Athletic

Podcast of the Year:
The Guardian Football Weekly

Pundit of the Year:
Alex Scott

Radio Show of the Year:
The Warm-Up WIth Max Rushden

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year:
Shona Groves (Millwall)

Writer of the Year:
Jonathan Wilson

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball