Your basket

Join The FSA

FSA Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The Football Supporters’ Association is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2021 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites here. 84 candidates will battle it out across 14 categories, recognising everything from the best players of 2021 to the best podcasts and fanzines.

In the Men’s Player of the Year category, Manchester City’s title-winning team has two representatives in the form of Rúben Dias and Phil Foden, alongside former-winner of the FSA award Mohamed Salah from Liverpool. Joining them on the shortlist are Champions League winner Mason Mount from Chelsea, high-flying West Ham striker Michail Antonio and Leicester City’s Youri Tielemans.

The shortlist for the Women’s Player of the Year includes two-time former-winner Vivianne Miedema from Arsenal, alongside teammate Kim Little. They are joined by Chelsea pair Fran Kirby and Sam Kerr (pictured above), and the Manchester duo of Ella Toone (Manchester United) and Ellen White (Manchester City).

Pundit of the Year promises to another hotly contested category as Sky Sports duo, and past winners, Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville go head-to-head once more. This year they’re facing stiff competition from Alan Shearer, Alex Scott, Ally McCoist and Rio Ferdinand.

Our Fans for Diversity work alongside equality and inclusion organisation Kick It Out has its own award, promoting the good work of fan groups who make football more inclusive and welcoming to all communities.

We’ll also be recognising the work Supporter Liaison Officers (SLOs) do for fans across the country which often goes unnoticed. The SLO of the Year award highlights the best practice in supporter liaison in the Premier League and English Football League.

The other categories that fans will be able to have their say on include the best commentators, podcasts, bloggers and football writers. In all, 10 categories are open to a public vote, while four categories (Club Podcast, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine, and the Supporter Liaison Officer of the year awards) will be decided by an FSA panel.

Zoë Osmond, CEO of BeGambleAware said: “We are pleased to be supporting the FSA Awards once again this year and in doing so, working together to encourage everyone to ‘tap out & take a moment’ before making a bet.

“Our partnership with the FSA is an important one as we work together to keep football fans and players safe from gambling harms”.

Kevin Miles, chief executive of the FSA said: “The FSA Awards in partnership with GambleAware are the largest supporter-led awards in the UK and a highlight of the footballing calendar. 

“Fans are a huge part of the game at all levels, and the FSA Awards gives fans the chance to have their say on the very best in all aspects of the game, both on and off the pitch.”

Voting is open until midnight on 16th November, with the awards being presented at our awards ceremony being held at The Londoner Hotel in Leicester Square on Monday 29th November, presented by Victoria Derbyshire.

Shortlisted nominees are entitled to two tickets to attend the awards dinner, and should get in touch with us at [email protected] for more details.

The full list of categories and shortlisted nominees can be found below.

Men’s Player of the Year

  • Mason Mount
  • Michail Antonio
  • Mohamed Salah
  • Phil Foden
  • Ruben Dias
  • Youri Tielemans

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Ella Toone
  • Ellen White
  • Fran Kirby
  • Kim Little
  • Sam Kerr
  • Vivianne Miedema

Club Podcast of the Year

  • Blue Moon
  • Charlton Live
  • Five Year Plan
  • It’s All Cobblers to Me
  • Ringing the Blues
  • Wise Men Say

Commentator of the Year

  • Conor McNamara
  • Darren Fletcher
  • John Murray
  • Martin Tyler
  • Peter Drury
  • Robyn Cowen

Fans for Diversity Award

  • AFC Autism
  • Apna England
  • Lady Imps
  • Love Football, Hate Racism
  • Pride in Football
  • Punjabi Rams

Fan Media of the Year

  • Along Come Norwich
  • Arseblog
  • Fulhamish
  • The Anfield Wrap
  • True Faith
  • TWTD

Fanzine of the Year

  • 2 Bags of Sand
  • 4000 Holes
  • A Love Supreme
  • Blowing Bubbles
  • Popular Stand
  • The Square Ball

Newspaper of the Year

  • Daily Mirror
  • Daily Telegraph
  • Non-League Paper
  • The Guardian
  • The Times
  • Yorkshire Evening Post

Online Media of the Year

  • David Squires
  • Price of Football
  • The Athletic
  • The Cycling GK
  • The Overlap

Podcast of the Year

  • Football Cliches
  • Football Ramble
  • The Guardian Football Weekly
  • MOTD Top 10s
  • Set Piece Menu
  • The Totally Football Show

Pundit of the Year

  • Alan Shearer
  • Alex Scott
  • Ally McCoist
  • Gary Neville
  • Jamie Carragher
  • Rio Ferdinand

Radio Show of the Year

  • 606
  • The Friday Football Social
  • Hawksbee and Jacobs
  • The Non-League Show
  • The Monday Night Club
  • The Warm-up with Max Rushden

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year

  • Catherine Thomas (Swansea City)
  • Jake Heath (West Ham United)
  • Jenny Hancock (Cheltenham Town)
  • Richard Knights (Exeter City)
  • Shona Groves (Millwall)
  • Yonit Sharabi (Liverpool)

Writer of the Year

  • Jonathan Liew
  • Jonathan Wilson
  • Melissa Reddy
  • Miguel Delaney
  • Sam Wallace
  • Suzy Wrack

Related Articles

Non-League Away Day of the Year 2021/22 announced

Blyth Spartans have been named as the 2021-22 overall winners of the Best Away Day in non-league at the National Game Awards in association with Buildbase. It is the third time we’ve partnered with the Non-League Paper to recognise the clubs who are the best at welcoming fans from Steps 1 to 4 of the National League, and the first since 2019 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Nominations open for the 2021 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards in partnership with GambleAware are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open.

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

Panel announced for fan-led review of football

Culture secretary Oliver Dowden has announced the full membership of the panel for the fan-led review of football governance, to be chaired by Tracey Crouch MP.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball