Your basket

Join The FSA

Peter Drury wins his third Commentator of the Year award © FSA / Matt Walder

FSA Awards 2023: Salah and Maanum lead major supporter honours

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards at a ceremony in London this evening – while Arsenal’s Frida Maanum picked up Women’s Player of the Year.

With almost 500,000 votes cast, the FSA Awards are the largest supporter-led awards in the UK and Salah topped the fans’ vote, holding off competition from Manchester City duo Erling Haaland and Rodri, as well as Bukayo Saka, Ollie Watkins and Kieran Trippier.

Salah is the fourth Liverpool player to scoop the award and the first to win our Men’s Player of the Year award on three occasions. Recent winners include Kevin De Bruyne, Bruno Fernandes, Virgil van Dijk and Harry Kane.

Arsenal and Norway midfielder Frida Maanum topped the vote in the Women’s Player of the Year category, becoming the third Arsenal player to win the award after teammates Beth Mead and Vivienne Miedema.

Maanum saw off competition from fellow nominees Lauren James, Beth England, Mary Earps, Rachel Daly and Yui Hasegawa.

Mohamed Salah said: “I want to thank everybody for the FSA award, especially because it’s voted for by fans – I really appreciate it.”

Frida Maanum said: “I would like to say thanks to everyone who voted for me, it’s obviously a really special award to receive – extra special as it’s voted for by the fans.”

Kevin Miles, chief executive of the Football Supporters’ Association, said: “Mohamed and Frida have had exceptional years for Liverpool and Arsenal – both proving extremely popular with the football-going public, who’ve recognised the standards they’ve set on the field.”

Andrew Murphy, head of partnerships at GambleAware, said: “We send our congratulations to Mohamed and all of this year’s winners at the FSA Awards – it’s an event that again gives us the opportunity to raise awareness that gambling harms can affect anyone and that free, confidential help and support is available for anyone who needs it.

“We’re delighted to be supporting the FSA Awards as we work together to keep football fans and players safe from gambling harms.”

Chris Dennis, Senior manager brand delivery at Toyota (GB) said: “Toyota (GB) is proud to sponsor this year’s FSA Women’s Player of the year award. As an organisation we’re committed to going beyond to build a diverse team and culture – including an aim to achieve a better gender balance in at least 30% of key leadership positions as part of our work with the Automotive 30% club – so being affiliated with the ever improving women’s game and the role it plays in inspiring the next generation of female players is a great fit with our values.”

Henry Winter picks up Writer of the Year © FSA / Matt Walder

Elsewhere Ian Wright picked up the trophy for Pundit of the Year beating previous winners Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville. Ally McCoist, Jill Scott and Rachel Brown-Finnis completed the TV/Radio Pundit of the Year shortlist.

Ian Wright said: “I am very, very grateful for this award – I’ve been blessed to maintain an amazing relationship with the fans, from all clubs, over many years. To get an award voted for by the fans is something that I’ll never take for granted. So thank you very, very much.”

Tottenham Hotspur fan group Spurs REACH win the Fans for Diversity award © FSA / Matt Walder

In total 10 categories were open to a public vote while five awards (Climate Action, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine, the Non-League Award and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year) were decided by an FSA panel.

The winners of the 2023 FSA Awards:

Men’s Player of the Year – sponsored by GambleAware:
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year – sponsored by Toyota GB:
Frida Maanum (Arsenal)

Climate Action Award:
Forest Green Rovers

Club Podcast of the Year:

Commentator of the Year:
Peter Drury

Fans for Diversity Award:

Fan Media of the Year:

Fanzine of the Year:
Dogma (Brighton and Hove Albion)

Football Media of the Year:
The Athletic

Social Media of the Year:

Podcast of the Year – sponsored by GambleAware:
The Guardian Football Weekly

TV/Radio Pundit of the Year:
Ian Wright

Non-League Award:
Frome Town Council

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year:
Dean Medcalf (Doncaster Rovers)

Writer of the Year:
Henry Winter

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2022: De Bruyne & Mead win major supporter honours

Kevin De Bruyne and Beth Mead win FSA Player of the Year awards at the 2022 FSA Awards with BeGambleAware, the biggest supporter-led awards event in the UK.

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

Honours even in FSA pre-season trophies

More than 1,100 fans gathered at Clapton Community FC’s Old Spotted Dog Ground in east London last weekend to see both their men’s and women’s sides compete against fellow fan-owned FC United of Manchester in two preseason friendlies. 

#ICYMI: Major League Scissor

The Portland Timbers beat San Jose 2-0 in the MLS this week and the victory was sealed with this sensational effort from Colombian Darion (no relation to Tino) Asprilla. A Puskas contender.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball