Your basket

Join The FSA

FSA Awards 2023: Vote now!

We are pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2023 Football Supporters’ Association Awards – voting is open now and fans can back their favourites here. 84 candidates will battle it out across 14 categories, recognising everything from the best players of the past year to the best podcasts and fanzines.

The largest supporter-led awards in the country are back.

The Men’s Player of the Year category features two members of Manchester City’s all-conquering treble-winning side, Rodri and Erling Haaland, who will go up against former winner Mohammed Salah, and Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka. They are joined by first time nominees Kieran Trippier of Newcastle United and Aston Villa’s Ollie Watkins. 

The shortlist for the Women’s Player of the Year features a healthy contingent from this year’s World Cup runners-up Lionesses squad, along with some Women’s Super League standouts. Lauren James represents double-winners Chelsea, alongside international team-mates Beth England from Tottenham Hotspur, Mary Earps of Manchester United and Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly. Joining them are Arsenal’s Norwegian midfielder Frida Maanum and Yui Hasegawa from Manchester City.

Pundit of the Year promises to be another hotly contested category, with three former winners in the shape of Gary Neville, Ian Wright and Jamie Carragher, alongside Ally McCoist, Jill Scott and Rachel Brown-Finnis.

Our Fans for Diversity campaign, run jointly with Kick It Out, has its own award, promoting the good work of fan groups who make football more inclusive and welcoming to all communities.

The other categories that fans will be able to have their say on include the best commentators, podcasts, social media accounts and football writers.

In all, 10 categories are open to a public vote, while five categories (Climate Action, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine, the Non-League Award and the Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year) will be decided by an FSA panel.

Voting is open until midday on Monday 20th November, with the awards being handed out at our awards ceremony, which will be held at Nobu in Portman Square, London, on Monday 4th December, presented by Victoria Derbyshire.

Shortlisted nominees are entitled to two free tickets to attend the awards dinner, and should get in touch with us at [email protected] for more details.

The full list of categories and shortlisted nominees can be found below.

Men’s Player of the Year, sponsored by Gamble Aware

  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)
  • Rodri (Manchester City)

Women’s Player of the Year, sponsored by Toyota

  • Beth England (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Frida Maanum (Arsenal)
  • Lauren James (Chelsea)
  • Mary Earps (Manchester United)
  • Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)
  • Yui Hasegawa (Manchester City)

Club Podcast of the Year

  • 1912 Exiles
  • Arseblog
  • Fulhamish
  • The Anfield Wrap
  • The Square Ball
  • Under the Abbey Stand

Commentator of the Year

  • Conor McNamara
  • John Murray
  • Peter Drury
  • Robyn Cowen
  • Sam Matterface
  • Vicki Sparks

Fans for Diversity Award

  • AFC Autism
  • Amar Cymru
  • ESEA Hornets
  • Foxes Pride
  • Punjabi Villans
  • SpursREACH

Fan Media of the Year

  • Along Come Norwich
  • Iron Bru
  • The Pinch
  • The Watford Treasury
  • True Faith

Fanzine of the Year

  • A Love Supreme
  • Alternative Wales
  • Blowing Bubbles
  • Dogma
  • My Only Desire
  • The Blue & White

Football Media of the Year

  • BBC Sport
  • FourFourTwo
  • talkSPORT
  • The Athletic
  • The Guardian

The Non-League Award

  • Bury FC – for their work in bringing football back to Gigg Lane
  • Clapton CFC – for their return to the Old Spotted Dog ground in E7.
  • Dulwich Hamlet – for their community work, including the club’s new multi-faith room
  • Frome Town Council – for their work securing the future of Frome Town FC and the club’s stadium
  • The Non-League Show – for championing non-league football at all levels
  • The Shrimpers Trust – for bringing together fan groups at Southend United and leading the campaign to oust owner Ron Martin

Podcast of the Year, sponsored by Gamble Aware

  • Football Cliches
  • Football Weekly
  • Not the Top 20
  • The Price of Football
  • The Rest is Football
  • Upfront

Social Media of the Year

  • Bryan’s Gunn
  • Crap 90s Football
  • Footy Scran
  • Jonny Sharples
  • OptaJoe
  • Tifo

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year

  • Alan Long – Lincoln City
  • Anthony Emmerson – Stoke City
  • Dave Wood – Wolves
  • Dean Medcalf – Doncaster Rovers
  • Mark Brindle – Arsenal
  • Richard Knight – Exeter City

TV/Radio Pundit of the Year

  • Ally McCoist
  • Gary Neville
  • Ian Wright
  • Jamie Carragher
  • Jill Scott
  • Rachel Brown-Finnis

Writer of the Year

  • Daniel Storey
  • Henry Winter
  • John Nicholson
  • Matt Slater
  • Nick Ames
  • Suzy Wrack

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2022: Vote now!

The Football Supporters’ Association is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2022 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites here.

Nominations open for 2023 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association’s 2023 Awards are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open. Last year’s Awards saw Arsenal’s Beth Mead pic

FSA Awards 2023: Salah and Maanum lead major supporter honours

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards at a ceremony in London this evening – while Arsenal’s Frida Maanum picked up Women’s Player of the Year.

FSA Cymru update: July 2023 / Cylchlythyr Gorffennaf 2023

The latest FSA Cymru newsletter updates all news from June 2022-July 2023. If you have any further queries please email [email protected]

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball