Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Awards 2013 – Meet the Contenders (Part 5)

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

In just over a week voting will close in the FSF Awards 2013 in association with William Hill. More than 125,000 votes have already been cast in the opening two weeks of voting, but there’s time left for you to choose your favourite before voting closes on 6th December.

On the blog this week we’ll give you a brief run-down of all the shortlisted nominees across our ten categories, just in case you had not yet decided who you were going to vote for. To cast your vote, simply head to

Voting closes at noon on Friday 6th December, and the winners will be announced at our awards dinner at the Emirates Stadium on the evening Monday 16th December.

Part 5 looks at the final pair of categories – the Writer of the Year and Away Day of the Year.

Writer of the Year

David Conn – The Guardian – A former winner of the FSF’s Writer of the Year award, Conn has always been known for his in-depth reporting into the financial aspect of football. In the past year his work on the Hillsborough disaster and quest for justice has been outstanding.

Andy Dunn – The Sunday Mirror – His weekly column is a highlight among the Sunday Mirror’s excellent football coverage while his insight and opinions have made him a regular guest on Sky Sports’ Sunday Supplement.

Ian Herbert – The Independent – Consistently producing a high standard of work on his patch as Northern Correspondent, Ian regularly champions fan-related issues and campaigns, such as the introduction of safe standing areas or the call for lower ticket prices.

Rory Smith – The Times – A ‘roving reporter’ with a particular fondness for European and world football, Smith’s knowledge and turn of phrase has seen him become a fixture in the Times’ football coverage, and a favourite among fans.

Jonathan Wilson – Freelance (various including The Guardian and The Blizzard) – Best known as the man who literally wrote the book on tactics, Wilson was the recipient of last year’s FSF Writer of the Year Award. He continues to produce consistently excellent work. 

Henry Winter – The Daily Telegraph – Football Correspondent for the Telegraph since 1994, Winter has long been associated with considered and thoughtful commentary on domestic and European football. Winter’s one of the finest match reporters working in print media.

Away Day of the Year

More than 40 clubs were nominated for the Away Day of the Year and, in conjunction with the FSF’s Away Fan Feedback Project, which is now in its second year, we have shortlisted six of the most consistently highly rated grounds in the country.

The Away Fan Feedback Project asks fans to rate their visits to away games across the whole spectrum of the experience – from ease of access and the area outside the stadium to the concourses, away sector and even the toilets and refreshments.

The shortlisted clubs are:

Arsenal – Emirates Stadium
Cardiff City – Cardiff City Stadium
Fleetwood Town – Highbury
Peterborough United – London Road
West Bromwich Albion – The Hawthorns
Wigan Athletic – The DW Stadium

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball