Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Awards 2013 – Suarez and RVP go head-to-head

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

The Football Supporters’ Federation is delighted to announce the shortlisted nominations for the 2013 FSF Awards, in association with William Hill, following a nominations process involving thousands of fans across the country.

There are a total of 60 shortlisted nominees across 10 different categories – including ‘Player of the Year’ for which Luis Suarez and Robin Van Persie are both on the shortlist. Juan Mata, Christian Benteke, Leighton Baines and Pablo Zabaleta are also in the running to be crowned 2013 FSF Player of the Year.

The ‘Pundit of the Year’ category also has a strong Manchester United v Liverpool flavour – with Sky Sports sparring partners Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher going head-to-head. Four other feisty character are also in the mix for the award – Robbie Savage, Pat Nevin, Stan Collymore and Roy Keane.

Other categories with award up for grabs include ‘Writer of the Year’, ‘Newspaper of the Year’, Blogger of the Year’, ‘Commentator of the Year’, ‘Fanzine of the Year’, ‘Independent Website of the Year’, ‘Podcast of the Year’ and the hotly contested award for ‘Away Day of the Year.’

fsf sports awards william hill freepix sw1 cottee sawyer miles

Tony Cottee, Natalie Sawyer and FSF chief executive Kevin Miles at the launch of the FSF Awards 2013 in association with William Hill, at Leyton Orient’s Matchroom Stadium.

The winners will be announced at a gala awards ceremony to be held on the 16th December at Emirates Stadium in London. The shortlisted candidates are all invited to the event.

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the FSF, said: “Fans are the beating heart of the game and these awards will recognise football’s finest – and that recognition couldn’t come from a more reputable source than supporters. Every category is decided by fans so visit the FSF site and have your say. Whether it’s your favourite player, pundit, away day or fanzine, we want to hear from you.”

Kristof Fahy, William Hill Chief Marketing Officer, said: “The supporters are the heart and soul of English football and we’re delighted to be associated with these awards. The FSF Awards recognise the very best in football – and the fact they’re voted for by the fans makes them even more special.”

The nominees are:

Player of the Year
Leighton Baines
Christian Benteke
Juan Mata
Luis Suarez
Robin Van Persie
Pablo Zabaleta

Blogger of the Year
Adam Hurrey – Football Cliches
Ian King – TwoHundredPercent
Dave Lane – Beesotted
Rob Langham – The Two Unfortunates
Kieron O’Connor – Swiss Ramble
Greg Theoharis – Dispatches from a Football Sofa

Commentator of the Year
Guy Mowbray
John Murray
Alan Parry
Jonathan Pearce
Clive Tyldesley
Martin Tyler

Fanzine of the Year
A Love Supreme – Sunderland
The Blue & White – Chester
Stand Against Modern Football – Various/All
The Square Ball – Leeds Utd
True Faith – Newcastle Utd
United We Stand – Manchester Utd

Independent Website of the Year
Back Page Football
In Bed with Maradona
Two Hundred Percent
The Two Unfortunates
Zonal Marking

Newspaper of the Year
The Daily Mail
The Daily Telegraph
The Guardian
The Independent
Sunday Mirror
The Times

Podcast of the Year
The Anfield Wrap
The Game
The Football Ramble
Football Weekly
We Are Going Up

Pundit of the Year
Jamie Carragher
Stan Collymore
Roy Keane
Gary Neville
Pat Nevin
Robbie Savage

Writer of the Year
David Conn – The Guardian
Andy Dunn – The Sunday Mirror
Ian Herbert – The Independent
Rory Smith – The Times
Jonathan Wilson – Freelance (various including The Guardian and The Blizzard)
Henry Winter – The Daily Telegraph

Away Day of the Year
Cardiff City
Fleetwood Town
Peterborough United
West Bromwich Albion
Wigan Athletic

Related Articles

And finally… head over heels

The World Cup’s well underway, and there’s been goals and incidents galore. From VAR penalties to long-range screamers we’ve had the lot, but we fear for Milad Mohammadi that this particular clip may live longer in the memory than any act of brilliance at this summer’s tournament. Shades of Zaire 1974 levels of farce as the Iranian attempts a throw-in…

#ICYMI: Don’t Luiz your head…

Football is back, and while we could’ve been worried about players taking a few games to get into their stride, David Luiz delivered from the off. Having been dropped to the bench and only entering the game due to an injury, he fluffed his clearance leading to Man City’s opener in first half stoppage time, before compounding his misery by giving away a penalty and getting sent off for an unwanted hat-trick just after the break.

FSF Awards 2017 – nominations now open

The Football Supporters’ Federation Awards, one of the biggest supporter-led awards events, is just around the corner and we need your help once more in celebrating all that’s good in the game – with public nominations now open.

FSF Awards 2017 shortlists announced

The Football Supporters’ Federation is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2017 FSF Awards in partnership with Virgin Media – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites at Ninety shortlisted candidates will battle it out across 15 categories, recognising everything from the best players of 2017 to fans’ favourite away days.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • SD Europe