Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Awards 2014: Commentator of the Year

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

Above, last year’s winner Martin Tyler picks up his award from Tony Cottee.

The Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill have been announced, have your say and vote here. Over the course of the next fortnight, we’ll be taking a look at each category individually. Second up, it’s Commentator of the Year… 

Voting is open now – to cast your votes, visit:

Commentator of the Year

  • Jon Champion – An experienced journalist, Champion’s career has seen him take in 5Live, Match of the Day, ITV, Setanta and ESPN, and he now calls Absolute Radio his home. Also known to many as the voice of Pro Evolution Soccer.
  • Alan Green – Belfast-born Green is one of the most distinctive voices in radio, and is winner of a Sony Radio Academy Award for Sports Broadcaster of the Year. Known for his forthright and honest opinions, he debuted on Match of the Day earlier this season. 
  • Conor McNamara – Since leaving his native Ireland and joining the BBC in 2002 McNamara has been a regular voice on both 5Live and Match of the Day, as well as popping up on the corporation’s rugby and golf coverage. 
  • Guy Mowbray – Guy took over the mantle of England commentary duties from John Motson when he retired in 2010, and has been a regular fixture in living rooms up and down the country as a commentator on Match of the Day since 2004. 
  • Clive Tyldesley – ITV’s main commentator for more than 15 years, he has covered countless England internationals, major tournaments and European finals (including ‘that night in Barcelona’ and ‘the miracle of Istanbul’ among others). 
  • Martin Tyler – Tyler has been with Sky Sports since the league’s inception, and is an experienced broadcaster whose career goes back to 1974. Arguably the voice of the Premier League in the eyes (or ears) of most fans, he was winner of last year’s award.

Voting is open now – to cast your votes, visit:

Voting will close at midday on Monday 24th November, with the winners announced at our awards dinner on Monday 1st December at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London.

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

2021: An historic year for the women’s game

On Boxing Day 1920 53,000 fans, with more supporters waiting outside, packed into Goodison Park to watch Preston’s Dick, Kerr Ladies FC take on St Helens Ladies. Rather than build on that popularity the FA chose, within a year, to ban women’s football from its clubs’ stadiums.

Fans oppose FIFA’s plans for two-year World Cup cycle

Supporter organisations around the globe have come together to sign a statement condemning FIFA’s plans for a two-year world cup cycle.

‘Nevertheless, she persisted’ – Did you know about the 50-year ban on women’s football?

This year is an historic one for the women’s game, marking 100 years since the FA banned women’s football from its clubs’ stadiums in 1921. The ban was overturned in 1971 – meaning 2021 is also the 50th anniversary of the FA righting that wrong.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball