Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Awards 2014: Player of the Year

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

The Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill have been announced, have your say and vote here. Over the course of the next fortnight, we’ll be taking a look at each category individually. 

First up, it’s Player of the Year, a category which then Liverpool striker Luis Suarez absolutely walked last year. This year looks a little tighter with no clear favourite at present, although we know things can change quickly in football.

Voting is open now – to cast your votes, visit:

Player of the Year:

  • Sergio Aguero – The most clinical striker in the Premier League? Aguero has had an outstanding year in front of goal, and no defence is safe with the Argentinian leading the line as he leads the goalscoring charts to start 2014/15. 
  • Eden Hazard – One of Jose Mourinho’s key creative forces over the past 12 months and more, the Belgian has turned his undoubted early promise into established class, and become one of the most dangerous attackers in the country. 
  • Branislav Ivanovic – Ultimately dependable and reliable, with an added forward intent and the ability to pop up with key goals at set pieces, the Chelsea right-back has established himself as a key figure in the side which kept the most clean sheets last season. 
  • Morgan Schneiderlin – A mainstay in Southampton’s successful rise through the divisions, Schneiderlin continues to flourish and impress at the highest level. While his team-mates grab more of the goals and the glory, they couldn’t do it without his midfield ability. 
  • Raheem Sterling – It is easy to forget that Sterling is not yet 20, such is the impact he has made at Liverpool and England level in the past 12 months. One of the genuine world stars in his age group, he’s matured into a key attacking force for club and country. 
  • Yaya Toure – The form of the Ivorian was one of the main reasons behind Manchester City’s successful title run in 2014 and scored a wonder goal in their League Cup final win. Toure is always likely to pop up with a goal or rampaging run, and is still a standout performer in a team of stars.

Voting is open now – to cast your votes, visit:

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

FSA Women’s Player of the Year 2019 nominees

Voting remains open in the FSA Awards 2019 in association with BeGambleAware, and the Women's Player of the Year is one of the most coveted titles up for grabs. Previous winners include the Arsenal pair of Beth Mead (2018) and Sari van Veenendaal (2016), and Man City's Jill Scott (2017).

Virgil Van Dijk named FSA Men’s Player of the Year

Liverpool centre-half Virgil Van Dijk has been crowned the Men’s Player of the Year at the 2019 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware.

FSA statement: Player wages during pandemic

Over the past two days, a number of public figures and politicians have called on elite footballers to take significant pay cuts to help their clubs through the on-going public health crisis.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball
  • SD Europe