Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Awards 2014: Pundit of the Year

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

The Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in association with William Hill have been announced, have your say and vote here. In the build-up to the awards, we look at each category individually…

Voting is open now – to cast your votes, visit:

Pundit of the Year:

  • Jamie Carragher (Sky Sports) – Despite having only left his playing days behind very recently, Carragher has quickly forged himself a niche in Sky Sports coverage. His discussions with Gary Neville on a Monday night are essential viewing if you want to learn a little more about the game.
  • Stan Collymore (talkSPORT) – Host of one of the nation’s favourite phone-ins, he’s as well known for his input into talkSPORT’s live commentary as he is challenging the opinions of his listeners. The only ‘radio-only’ pundit on the shortlist, he’s always willing to take on the tough subjects.
  • Lee Dixon (ITV) – Less outspoken than some of the others on the shortlist, Dixon is always ready with a measured input on ITV’s international and Champions League coverage, bringing his experience to bear in a clear, straightforward style, much like his defending.
  • Gary Lineker (BBC) – Far more than just a presenter, he shapes the discussion on Match of the Day by asking all the right questions, and isn’t afraid to offer up his own opinion. Gary’s also not afraid to get stuck in to the big topics on Twitter, but does so with more than a dash of humour and humiity.
  • Gary Neville (Sky Sports) – The winner of last year’s award, Neville has quickly become a by-word for intelligent, thoughtful analysis. Whether in the co-commentary chair or reviewing games on Monday Night Football, it always pays to listen to what he’s got to say.
  • Robbie Savage (BBC/BT Sport) – Savage divides opinion like almost no other pundit, but his output is prolific and his views are always forthright – he’s not one to sit on the fence and offer a bland platitude, and he’s always willing to admit when he gets the odd one wrong. 

Voting is open now – to cast your votes, visit:

Voting will close at midday on Monday 24th November, with the winners announced at our awards dinner on Monday 1st December at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London.

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

2021: An historic year for the women’s game

On Boxing Day 1920 53,000 fans, with more supporters waiting outside, packed into Goodison Park to watch Preston’s Dick, Kerr Ladies FC take on St Helens Ladies. Rather than build on that popularity the FA chose, within a year, to ban women’s football from its clubs’ stadiums.

Fans oppose FIFA’s plans for two-year World Cup cycle

Supporter organisations around the globe have come together to sign a statement condemning FIFA’s plans for a two-year world cup cycle.

‘Nevertheless, she persisted’ – Did you know about the 50-year ban on women’s football?

This year is an historic one for the women’s game, marking 100 years since the FA banned women’s football from its clubs’ stadiums in 1921. The ban was overturned in 1971 – meaning 2021 is also the 50th anniversary of the FA righting that wrong.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball