Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Football Writers Awards 2012

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

Only one week later than promised the Football Supporters’ Federation’s Awards Panel has delivered the shortlists for our FSF Football Writers Awards 2012. Like troops returning from battle they have haunted looks in their beady eyes and tell tales of terror that the uninitiated could never truly comprehend. With almost 400 nominations, from more than 1000 fans, shortlisting was a Herculean task.

***Click here and vote in the FSF Writers Awards***

How will the winners be decided? The Writer, Podcast, and Book awards will be decided by the public – vote here by June 22nd. The winners of the Newspaper, Blogger, Website, and Fanzine Awards will be decided by an FSF Panel. The winners will be announced at the FSF Football Writers Awards 2012 on the evening of Saturday 7th July in Covent Garden. Buy your tickets here (only £5).

Why wasn’t my favourite shortlisted? The standard of entries across every category was very high and we received twice as many nominations as last year. For example, more than 100 bloggers, 70 websites, and 50 podcasts were nominated and the Awards Panel read or listened to every last one. With so many potential permutations it’s impossible to produce a ‘perfect’ list which everyone agrees with. Some people will inevitably be disappointed (the Awards Panel had its own fair share of disagreements!) and we’ll probably get the odd furious email. C’est la vie.

But most importantly. If your blog, fanzine, website, or podcast was nominated but didn’t make this year’s shortlist please, please, please don’t let that put you off entering 2013’s awards. Some who didn’t make the cut last year have this year, and some who were shortlisted last year have missed out this year. The FSF Football Writers Awards aim to showcase the depth and breadth of the best amateur and professional football journalism out there. We can only do that with your help and would like to thank everyone who got involved.


FSF Football Writer of the Year (vote here):

FSF Football Podcast of the Year (vote here):

FSF Football Book of the Year (vote here):

FSF Fans’ Newspaper of the Year:

FSF Football Website of the Year:

FSF Football Blogger of the Year:

FSF Football Fanzine of the Year:

We’ll be in touch with shortlisted nominees ASAP…

The winners will be announced at the FSF Football Writers Awards 2012 on the evening of Saturday 7th July (7.30pm doors, Grand Connaught Rooms, London). The award ceremony will be part of an FSF comedy panel show featuring, among others, ex-Arsenal legend Perry Groves, stand-up comedian, comedy writer and Match of the Day 2’s Kevin Day, The Guardian Football Weekly podcast’s mainstay Barry Glendenning, and the Football League Show’s Leroy Rosenior.

  • Buy your tickets here (only £5)…
  • The Awards are part of the wider Football Supporters’ Federation and Supporters Direct Fans’ Weekend which takes place on Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July. Read more here.

Join the FSF for free today from this link.

The Football Supporters’ Federation on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter – @The_FSF

Related Articles

North West Football Awards 2022

Voting for the Northwest Football Awards (NWFA) is open, giving supporters in the region the chance to vote across a range of categories in the men’s and women’s game.

Nominations open for the 2021 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards in partnership with GambleAware are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open.

FSA Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The Football Supporters’ Association is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2021 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites here. 84 candidates will battle it out across 14 categories, recognising everything from the best players of 2021 to the best podcasts and fanzines.

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball