Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF launches all-new Awards 2011

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

The Football Supporters’ Federation has revamped and extended our annual football writer’s award ahead of this year’s Fans’ Parliament. We are pleased to announce the award is now part of a much bigger set of awards, and we will even be organising a swanky, celebrity-filled event on 9th July in London at which they will be presented.

Previously the FSF presented a single Football Writer of the Year award, with past winners including David Conn, Martin Samuel, David James and Dr John Beech. But with the growth in football writing, particularly online, we want to recognise the quality in the breadth of writing that’s now available to fans, as well as rewarding more than just one writer per year.

Email [email protected] with your nominations before midnight on May 20th – you can nominate up to three people/publications in any category. The nominations for the photographer of the year will remain open for longer, until 10th June, to allow snappers some time to get snapping:

The FSF Fans’ Newspaper of the Year award – The award for the best coverage of football in a newspaper, whether local, regional or national.  Whether its match reports, weekly supplements, feature writers or breadth of coverage that flicks your switch, we want to know which is your footballing newspaper of the year.

The FSF Website of the Year award – An award recognising the work of independent contributors to the online football world rather than the likes of BBC Sport or official club websites. Whether a co-operative of writers or a one man band, ground-hoppers to club bloggers, podcasts or photos, serious or side-splitting, who has the content that keeps you clicking back again and again?

The FSF Football Writer of the Year award – An award to acknowledge the talents of the best journalists and professional writers in the business. Whose articles are worth shelling out for a newspaper or magazine alone? Who writes the most insightful or erudite pieces? Who gets you thinking? In short, who’s the best of the best?

The FSF Football Blogger of the Year award – An award to recognise the very best ‘amateur’ writers. We realise that the distinction between ‘proper’ journalists and bloggers is getting ever more blurred, but if they’re producing content for free for a website (rather than for a newspaper or professional publication) then they’re eligible for this award. If you’re not sure which category your favourite falls into then nominate them for both and let us decide!

The FSF Fanzine of the Year award – Is your club’s fanzine deserving of wider recognition? Are the writers capable of churning out page-upon-page of witty, informative and entertaining copy, yet still crazy enough to be standing out in all weathers to sell their wares? This can include online content as well, but a printed version must have been available during 2010/11 season to be eligible for the award.

The FSF Photographer of the Year award – A picture paints a thousand words, so they say, and so a good photo can be the equal of any article. Skirting the copyright issues that arise from taking pictures in grounds these days, we want to find the best amateur photographer in the land. Recreating LS Lowry’s ‘Going to the match’? Snapping local parks’ players? A packed post-match pub? We want to see your best efforts on anything with a football theme.

If you have any questions about the awards (timelines, nominations processes, etc) then check out our 2011 Awards FAQs. If your question is still unanswered, drop us a line to [email protected].

How are the winners decided? The Fans’ Newspaper of the Year and Football Website of the Year awards will see nominations whittled down to a shortlist by an FSF panel, and the winner decided by an online public vote. The other three writers awards will see nominations reduced to a shortlist, with the winner being decided by an FSF panel. The photography award will be judged by renowned football photographer Stuart Roy Clarke.

Join the FSF for free today from this link.

The Football Supporters’ Federation on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter – @The_FSF

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball