Your basket

Join The FSA

FSF Writer of the Year – Dr John Beech

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

FSF chair Malcolm Clarke will tomorrow present sports finance expert Dr John Beech with the FSF’s Football Writer of the Year award for the 2009/10 season. John is author of the ever-informative Football Management blog which analyses the fiscal fortunes of clubs throughout the football pyramid.

A Portsmouth fan, full-time researcher at Coventry University, and member of the University’s Centre for the International Business of Sport, much of John’s recent work has looked at the worringly high levels of insolvency at English football clubs. “I’ve always felt that failure in business is a much more fertile topic to investigate than success,” said John.

“To use a comic sporting cliché I’m over the moon. It is a tremendous honour for me to be given such a prestigious award and I’m flattered that Malcolm is coming to Coventry especially to give it to me. I am passionate about sport and follow the finances of football clubs with interest as my own club, Portsmouth, has had its own particular problems for some time.

“It is a very testing time for clubs at the moment, especially those that do not have rich backers. I am humbled that the FSF find my blog informative and entertaining and consider my musings worthy of recognition!”

John’s research suggests that, despite seemingly ever-increasing revenues from broadcasting, sponsorship and merchandising, a financial malaise is sweeping through the game – something he blames on the “benefactor” business model. That is the assumption that one investor has infinitely deep pockets and an unshakeable commitment to throwing money at a club.

Previous winners of the FSF’s Football Writer of the Year award include David Conn (The Guardian), David James (Observer), Martin Samuel (for his writing at the News of the World), Stuart Brennan (Manchester Evening News), and Andrew Jennings (for his book on alleged FIFA corruption Foul!).

Join the FSF for free today from this link.

The Football Supporters’ Federation on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter – @The_FSF

Related Articles

FSA Women’s Player of the Year 2019 nominees

Voting remains open in the FSA Awards 2019 in association with BeGambleAware, and the Women's Player of the Year is one of the most coveted titles up for grabs. Previous winners include the Arsenal pair of Beth Mead (2018) and Sari van Veenendaal (2016), and Man City's Jill Scott (2017).

Virgil Van Dijk named FSA Men’s Player of the Year

Liverpool centre-half Virgil Van Dijk has been crowned the Men’s Player of the Year at the 2019 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware.

A year in the life of the FSA

It’s been a busy 12 months for the football fans and the newly-created Football Supporters’ Association. Here we look back at some of the highlights (and lowlights) of 2019…

“Supporters can make the difference” – FSA SLO of the Year Dave Messenger

Every year at the FSA Awards we celebrate the Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year, a prize that aims to promote the best supporter liaison work that goes on around the country – and we’ve spoken to the 2019 winner, Dave Messenger, about his role at Watford.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball
  • SD Europe