Your basket

Join The FSA

Harry Kane wins FSF Player of the Year

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

(Above – Ledley King collects the Men’s Player of the Year on behalf of Harry Kane)

Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane was named Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in partnership with Virgin Media, which took place tonight in London.

Kane topped the fans’ vote, holding off competition from runner up Kevin de Bruyne. Cesar Azpilicueta, N’Golo Kanté, Hugo Lloris and Romelu Lukaku completed the shortlist.

Almost quarter-of-a-million votes were cast in this year’s Awards – previous winners of the FSF Men’s Player of the Year are Philippe Coutinho, Alexis Sanchez, Luis Suarez and Sergio Aguero.

Harry Kane said: “I want to say a big thank you to the Football Supporters’ Federation – it’s something I’m extremely proud to receive. To have the support of fans from all across the country is mind-blowing really.

“It’s been a good year for me. Picking up the golden boot and scoring the goal to send England to the World Cup is something I’m extremely proud of.”

Kevin Miles, Chief Executive of the Football Supporters’ Federation, said:

“Harry has had a great year, scoring comfortably more goals than any other top-flight player, and elevating himself to the elite of Premier League players.

“It’s not just Harry’s goals which make him a favourite though. He’s a player fans can really relate to, someone who gives his all and came through Spurs’ youth system.

“Harry’s the first English player to win this award, has scored more than a goal-per-game for England this year, and we’d love to see him carry that form into next year’s World Cup.”

Tom Mockridge, CEO, Virgin Media, said: “At Virgin Media we believe fans matter. Through our partnership with the FSF, we’re putting our money where our mouth is and supporting initiatives like the ‘Twenty’s Plenty’ campaign where we are helping to make away matches more affordable.

“We congratulate all the winners from tonight’s awards who have helped make the game enjoyable for fans – on and off the pitch.”

Commentator John Motson was also the proud recipient of a special Lifetime Achievement Award which was presented to celebrate five decades of superb reporting. In September 2017 John announced that he would retire at the end of the current season.

Elsewhere Gary Neville picked up the trophy for Pundit of the Year, pipping last year’s winner Jamie Carragher in a public vote. It’s the third time he has won the award.

In total 10 categories were open to a public vote, including the player and pundit categories, while five awards (Away Day, Club Podcast, Fans for Diversity, Fanzine and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year) were decided by an FSF panel.

The winners of the 2017 FSF Awards in partnership with Virgin Media:

Men’s Player of the Year:
Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Women’s Player of the Year:
Jill Scott (Manchester City Ladies)

Away Day of the Year:
Swansea City

Blogger of the Year:
Kieron O’Connor (Swiss Ramble)

Club Podcast of the Year:
Amber Nectar

Commentator of the Year:
Martin Tyler

Fans for Diversity Award:
Blues 4 All

Fanzine of the Year:
The Gooner

Newspaper of the Year:
The Guardian

Lifetime Achievement:
John Motson

Online Media of the Year:

Podcast of the Year:
Football Weekly

Pundit of the Year:
Gary Neville

Radio Show of the Year:

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year:
Jason Taylor and Ian Wadsworth (Wigan Athletic)

Writer of the Year:
Jonathan Wilson

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball