Your basket

Join The FSA

Jacqui Forster Memorial Award

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

Vicki Goodfellow worked at Supporters Direct alongside Jacqui Forster for many years before Jacqui passed away in 2018. Here, Vicki explains Jacqui’s legacy and the Jacqui Forster Memorial Award. If you know anyone who deserves to be nominated, we’d love to hear from you…

As many of you will be aware, Jacqui Forster passed away after a long and courageous fight against cancer in 2018.

Jacqui fell in love with football having been taken to watch her beloved Altrincham by her dad, standing on the terraces and prompting her to help set up a supporters’ trust. Her work caught the eye of Brian Lomax and, after joining Supporters Direct in 2003, it gave her a platform to help supporters find their voice across the country.

Jacqui was passionate and dedicated, and was involved in almost every one of the 200 supporters’ trusts at some stage of their development. Alongside her professionalism was a personality and warmth that will be fondly remembered and sadly missed by all in the movement, and more latterly from her inspirational new venture, Women at the Game.

This annual award is designed to celebrate and recognise women like Jacqui who give their spare time to promote the values and principles of the supporter movement.

If you would like to nominate a female volunteer from a trust or supporter owned club, please email us ([email protected]) their name, organisation and a statement as to why you believe they should win the award by Monday 24th June at 5pm.

The winner will be decided by a panel which will be made up of people who knew Jacqui and her contribution to the movement. The award will be presented at the FSA AGM on Saturday 29th June at the Royal National Hotel, London.

Related Articles

Jacqui Forster Memorial Award 2022

The Jacqui Forster Memorial Award, an award that celebrates women who do great things for the supporter movement, has returned for 2022. Jacqui worked for Supporters Direct (SD) one of the FSA’s predecessors from 2003 until 2018, when she sadly passed away, following a long battle with cancer. SD was one of the forerunner organisations which eventually became the FSA.

Jacqui Forster Memorial Award 2024: Nominations open

The Jacqui Forster Memorial Award, an award that celebrates women who do great things for the supporter movement, has returned for 2024 – and nominations are now open.

Vote for your save of the season in the Safe Hands Award

As part of our partnership with BeGambleAware, safer gambling ambassador and former England goalkeeper David James has selected a shortlist of six of the best saves from the past 12 months for the Safe Hands Award.

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball