Your basket

Join The FSA

© Matt Walder/The FSA

Nominations open for the 2021 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards in partnership with GambleAware are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open.

Last year’s Awards saw Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes pick up the Men’s Player of the Year award, with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema grabbing her second Women’s Player of the Year trophy. Martin Tyler walked away with the Commentator of the Year trophy while Ian Wright picked up the TV/Radio Pundit of the Year, but who do you think should be in line for the FSA Awards this year?

The Awards will be taking place at the Londoner Hotel on 29th November, and we’ll be celebrating the very best in football from the top players to your favourite fanzine.

Winners will be selected by public vote or an FSA panel following a nominations process which is now open.

  1. Men’s Player of the Year
  2. Women’s Player of the Year
  3. Commentator of the Year
  4. Fan Media award
  5. Newspaper of the Year
  6. Online Media award
  7. Podcast of the Year
  8. Club Podcast of the Year
  9. Pundit of the Year
  10. Radio Show of the Year
  11. Writer of the Year

What about fanzines?

Fanzines can nominate themselves by sending at least three editions from 2021 to us at: The Football Supporters’ Association, 1 Ashmore Terrace, Sunderland, SR2 7DE. These need to reach us as soon as possible so we can distribute these to our panel of judges, which will convene at the end of the month.

And a note for fanzine editors – the fanzine category is for print fanzines only, if you’re exclusively digital, make sure to nominate yourselves in the Fan Media or Online Media award categories respectively.

How do I nominate someone?

You can nominate up to three candidates for each category by following this link, but you do not have to nominate for all categories. Nominations are open until Monday 18th October, with the final shortlists being announced in early November.

What’s the Fan Media award about?

The Fan Media award was introduced in 2018 – pretty much every club has a whole range of forums, bloggers, stats men and ‘content creators’ as they’re referred to in the business, all run by fans for the love of their club. If your team has a particularly excellent independent voice online, whether it’s a website, social media feed or YouTube channel, we want to hear about it.

As with the Podcast/Club podcast awards, we want general football content in the Online Media award – previously shortlisted nominees included, the Athletic OptaJoe and Guardian cartoonist David Squires – with the best independent, club-specific fan-led efforts in the Fan Media award.

How are the winners decided?

Eleven categories (both player awards, writer, blogger, podcast, pundit, radio show, newspaper, online media, fan media and commentator) will be decided by a public vote, which will run throughout November. The remaining categories will be decided by a panel of judges selected by the FSA.

When are the FSA Awards and can I come?

They take place on the evening of Monday 29th November at the Londoner Hotel, Leicester Square. All shortlisted nominees will receive tickets to attend – it is unlikely that any tickets will be available for general sale.

If you represent a media outlet and are interested in covering the awards, email us.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball