Your basket

Join The FSA

© Richard Irving

Peacehaven win the Brian Lomax Cup

Peacehaven & Telscombe came out on top to win the Brian Lomax Cup in a closely fought contest against Dunstable Town on the south coast on Saturday 22nd July. Richard Irving explains more

“The Brian Lomax Cup was the final game of three held over the past week between community-owned clubs which, at 2pm on Saturday afternoon, looked in serious danger of not happening at all.

“It wasn’t the unseasonal rainy weather that looked set to prevent the game starting but the small matter of a flat tyre on the Dunstable coach before they’d even left Bedfordshire.

“Thankfully, the game was able to kick off around an hour later than the scheduled 3pm start and the well matched sides battled out a game that was only settled in the 92nd minute.

“Peacehaven took the lead early in the second half following an earlier disallowed Dunstable goal, when Eman Osei-Asamoah slotted home. Isaac Olaleye then equalised for Dunstable before Aaron Capon’s late intervention gave the cup to the Sussex side.

“A healthy following from Bedfordshire travelled with their team and enjoyed the hospitality of their hosts, before returning home with far less drama than they’d experienced earlier in the day.

“Our congratulations go to Peacehaven along with our thanks for hosting the game and commiserations to Dunstable Town who nevertheless put on an excellent display despite their transport travails.”

Related Articles

FC United beat Enfield Town to win 2021 Brian Lomax Trophy

On Saturday, FC United of Manchester beat Enfield Town 3-1 to win the 2021 Brian Lomax Trophy – a fixture celebrating community ownership and promoting supporter-owned clubs in the game.

#ICYMI: Strife of Brian

Dutch giants Ajax are currently near the bottom of Eredivisie and are having a terrible season by all accounts with just two wins. Their dreadful form culminated in a 5-2 thrashing at longtime rivals PSV this week and Brian Brobbey’s profligate finishing is hardly helping matters. Comedic stuff.

FSA statement: England Women’s Euro 2022 win

Following England Women’s victory in the Euro 2022 final on Sunday the FSA has issued the following statement:

FSA Awards 2022: De Bruyne & Mead win major supporter honours

Kevin De Bruyne and Beth Mead win FSA Player of the Year awards at the 2022 FSA Awards with BeGambleAware, the biggest supporter-led awards event in the UK.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball