Your basket

Join The FSA

Philippe Coutinho wins FSF Player of the Year Award

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho was named Men’s Player of the Year at the 2016 Football Supporters’ Federation Awards in partnership with Virgin Media, which took place in London last night.

Coutinho topped the fans’ vote, holding off stiff competition from 2014 winner Sergio Agüero. Dele Alli, Riyad Mahrez, Mesut Özil and Dimitri Payet made up the rest of the shortlist.

200,000 votes were cast in this year’s Awards – previous winners of the FSF Player of the Year include Luis Suarez (2013), Sergio Aguero (2014) and Alexis Sanchez (2015).

Accepting the award on his behalf, Liverpool manager Jürgen Klopp said: “It’s a pleasure to work with a player like this – a very skilled boy with an outstanding attitude.

“Being the supporters’ player of the year is one of the biggest honours a player can get. I could not be further away from a prize like this when I was a player!

“It’s a really nice prize and I’m happy for him.”

Kevin Miles, chief executive of the Football Supporters’ Federation, said: “The fans’ love affair with top-class South American talent continues – this is the fourth successive year that supporters have voted for a player from that continent to win the FSF’s Player of the Year award.

“From Coutinho’s arrival into the Premier League he was clearly a very talented player. Since those early days he’s stepped up a level and shown a consistency befitting a player who is an integral part of a title-challenging team.

“He’s a worthy winner of the FSF Player of the Year Award 2016.”

In total, 13 categories were decided on the night, including two debut awards – the Fans for Diversity award and the Women’s Player of the year award.

Sky Sport’s Martin Tyler once again picked up commentator of the year, while his Monday Night Football colleague Jamie Carragher won Pundit of the Year for the second time.

Virgin Media marketing director Lloyd Page said: “The FSF Awards have a unique voice in in the world of football – they give the fans a say in celebrating the best things about our national sport, both on and off the pitch.

“At Virgin Media, we believe that fans should be at the heart of football, and we’re delighted to be working with the Football Supporters’ Federation and these awards.

“All thirteen shortlists were incredibly strong – the public and the FSF had a tough job picking the best of the best. On behalf of everyone at Virgin Media, I’d like to offer congratulations to all the winners.”

The winners of the 2016 FSF Awards in partnership with Virgin Media:

Away Day of the Year – Rotherham United

Blogger of the Year – Andrew Flint (These Football Times)

Commentator of the Year – Martin Tyler (Sky Sports)

Fans for Diversity Award – Bangla Bantams

Fanzine of the Year – Popular Stand (Doncaster Rovers)

Men’s Player of the Year – Philippe Coutinho

Newspaper of the Year – The Guardian

Podcast of the Year – Football Weekly (The Guardian)

Pundit of the Year – Jamie Carragher

Radio Show of the Year – The Anfield Wrap

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year – Jonathan Waite (Tottenham Hotspur)

Women’s Player of the Year – Sari Van Veenendaal

Writer of the Year – Daniel Storey (Football365)

Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year is voted on by the public along with Pundit of the Year, Commentator of the Year, Newspaper of the Year, Podcast of the Year, Blogger of the Year, Radio Show of the Year and Writer of the Year.

An FSF Awards Panel decided the Away Day of the Year, Fans For Diversity, Fanzine of the Year and Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year.

The FSF Awards in partnership with Virgin Media took place on Monday 5th December 2016 at St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London.

Related Articles

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

32-year safe standing campaign finally wins!

The Football Supporters’ Association (FSA) was contacted last night by the Sports Ground Safety Association (SGSA), who told us that the option for football clubs to offer licensed standing at all levels of the game in England and Wales has at last been passed into official Government policy.

FSA Women’s Player of the Year 2019 nominees

Voting remains open in the FSA Awards 2019 in association with BeGambleAware, and the Women's Player of the Year is one of the most coveted titles up for grabs. Previous winners include the Arsenal pair of Beth Mead (2018) and Sari van Veenendaal (2016), and Man City's Jill Scott (2017).

Virgil Van Dijk named FSA Men’s Player of the Year

Liverpool centre-half Virgil Van Dijk has been crowned the Men’s Player of the Year at the 2019 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball
  • SD Europe