Your basket

Join The FSA
The House of Commons' main chamber

© UK Parliament

Political football: The FSA in Westminster

The Football Supporters’ Association was in Westminster last week meeting MPs to reconstitute the All Party Parliamentary Group for Football Supporters (APPG).

The APPG aims “to represent the interests of match-going football fans and to support the aims and objectives of the Football Supporters’ Association”.

The FSA is secretariat to the group which is non-party political and features MPs from a range of Parliamentary parties. A number of Peers are also APPG members.

The group is chaired by Gateshead MP Ian Mearns (Labour), a season ticket holder at Newcastle United, and aims to strengthen the voice of football fans in Parliament and help influence things for the better. APPG members are match-going fans with a big interest in the game.

The group reconstituted with an AGM on Wednesday 5th February 2020, electing the chair and vice chairs. FSA chief executive Kevin Miles gave a run down on the latest news relating to football governance, clubs in crisis, standing at the match, and more.

The APPG also looked at events for the upcoming year and identified football and policing costs, facial recognition technology and its use at football, Qatar 2022, agent fees, and Fans for Diversity as subjects they’d like to hear more about.

In previous years the APPG has held events looking at clubs in crisis and Bury FC, the future of lower league football, standing, equality, the impact of TV fixtures, and FA reform.

APPG members:

• Alan Brown MP (SNP)
• Alex Norris MP (Labour) – Vice chair
• Bill Esterson MP (Labour)
• Chi Onwurah MP (Labour)
• Chris Green MP (Conservative)
• Chris Matheson MP (Labour)
• Chris Stephens MP (SNP)
• Clive Betts MP (Labour)
• Clive Efford MP (Labour)
• Damian Collins MP (Conservative) – Vice chair
• Damian Green MP (Conservative) – Vice chair
• Dan Carden MP (Labour)
• Dawn Butler MP (Labour)
• Derek Twigg MP (Labour)
• Dr Rosena Allin-Khan MP (Labour)
• Gareth Thomas MP (Labour)
• Gavin Newlands MP (SNP)
• Ian Blackford MP (SNP)
• Ian Byrne MP (Labour)
• Ian Lavery MP (Labour)
• Ian Mearns MP (Labour) – Chair
• Ian Murray MP (Labour)
• Jason McCartney MP (Conservative) – Vice chair
• Jeff Smith MP (Labour)
• Jo Stevens MP (Labour) – Vice chair
• Jonathan Reynolds MP (Labour)
• Justin Madders MP (Labour)
• Justin Tomlinson MP (Conservative)
• Kate Hollern MP (Labour)
• Lord Collins of Highbury (Labour)
• Lord David Triesman (Labour)
• Lord Faulkner (Labour)
• Lord Goddard of Stockport (Liberal Democrats)
• Lord Pendry (Labour)
• Matt Western MP (Labour) – Vice chair
• Mike Hill MP (Labour)
• Rachel Hopkins MP (Labour) – Vice chair
• Richard Holden MP (Conservative)
• Rosie Cooper MP (Labour)
• Sharon Hodgson MP (Labour)
• Stephen Morgan MP (Labour)
• Toby Perkins MP (Labour)
• Tracey Crouch MP (Conservative) – Vice chair

If your local MP is a football fan and you think they would be interested in the work of the FSA please let us know.

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball