Your basket

Join The FSA

The FSF Writers Awards 2012

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and SD merged to become the FSA in 2019.

The FSF’s Football Writers Awards 2012 took place at Covent Garden’s Grand Connaught Rooms on Saturday evening (7th July). 200 fans were in attendance to see awards handed out across seven different categories recognising the best in amateur and professional writing.

Nominations opened in late April and almost 400 were received, from more than 1000 fans. The winners of the Writer, Podcast, and Book Awards were decided by a public vote. The Newspaper, Blogger, Website, and Fanzine awards were selected by an FSF panel.

Without further ado, the winners…

FSF Book of the Year (public vote):
Barca: The Making of the Greatest Team in the World (Graham Hunter)Taking the 2011 Champions League final as a starting point Hunter tells the tale of Barca through some of its most famous names – Guardiola, Cruyff, Xavi, Iniesta, and Messi.

FSF Blogger of the Year:
Andi Thomas (The FCF/SB Nation)for his creative and often humourous take on the world of football. Consistently excellent.

FSF Fans’ Newspaper of the Year:
The Timesfor the depth and quality of its writing staff, its varied and dedicated coverage, including an ongoing commitment to its excellent pull-out section.

FSF Fanzine of the Year:
United We Stand (Manchester United)
for their consistently well-written content, excellent cover design and the ability to be self-critical of their club and its players when they feel it is justified.

FSF Podcast of the Year (public vote):
The Anfield Wrap (Liverpool)
independent, only one season old, and already with more than 1m downloads. Boss.

FSF Website of the Year:

for its long-standing commitment, dedication, and coverage of issues that affect football across all leagues.

FSF Writer of the Year (public vote):
Jonathan Wilson (The Guardian, Fox Sports, Sports Illustrated, editor of The Blizzard, various online) –
some writers excel at dissecting the game’s tactics, while others are capable of placing football in its rightful cultural context. Wilson is one of the few who can do both exceptionally well.

The FSF would like to thank each and every person who nominated their favourite writers and publications. The sheer volume of nominations ensured that the standard of entrant was very high and being shortlisted was in itself a fine achievement – the full shortlists are reproduced below.

Shortlist for FSF Blogger of the Year:

Shortlist for FSF Book of the Year:

Shortlist for FSF Fans’ Newspaper of the Year:

Shortlist for FSF Fanzine of the Year:

Shortlist for FSF Podcast of the Year:

Shortlist for FSF Website of the Year:

Shortlist for FSF Writer of the Year:

Join the FSF for free today from this link.

The Football Supporters’ Federation on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter – @The_FSF

Related Articles

Nominations open for the FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards are on their way, and we need your help once more in celebrating all that’s good in the game – with nominations now open.

Vote now: FSA Awards shortlists announced

We are pleased to announce the shortlists for the FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware, with voting open now.

FSA Awards to take place online for the first time

The winners of the FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware will be announced on Friday 12th March in an online event, following more than 250,000 votes being cast by supporters throughout the country in February.

FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware

The winners of the FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware were announced today (Friday 12th March) on Twitter and Instagram at half hour intervals from 9am – see all the winners below…

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball
  • SD Europe