Your basket

Join The FSA

The FSF Writers Awards 2012

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

The FSF’s Football Writers Awards 2012 will take place on Saturday 7th July at the Grand Connaught Rooms in Covent Garden, London (7.30pm) – buy your ticket here for only £5. The awards reward the best football coverage out there by professional and amateur writers across seven categories. The awards make up the evening element of the FSF and Supporters Direct Fans’ Weekend. Find out how to nominate your favourites below…

  • Email [email protected] with your nominations before midnight on Friday 18th May (maximum three nominations per category).

The FSF Fans’ Newspaper of the Year award – The award for the best coverage of football in a newspaper, whether local, regional or national.  Whether its match reports, weekly supplements, feature writers or breadth of coverage that flicks your switch, we want to know which is your footballing newspaper of the year.

The FSF Fans’ Website of the Year award – An award recognising the work of independent contributors to the online football world rather than media giants or official club websites. Whether a co-operative of writers or a one man band, ground-hoppers to club bloggers, serious or side-splitting, who has the content that keeps you clicking back time and again?

The FSF Fans’ Football Writer of the Year award – This gong will acknowledge the talents of the best professional writers in the business. Whose articles are worth shelling out for a newspaper or magazine alone? Who writes the most insightful or erudite pieces? Who gets you thinking? In short, who’s the best of the best?

The FSF Fans’ Football Blogger of the Year award – For the very best ‘amateur’ writers. We realise that the distinction between ‘proper’ journalists and bloggers is getting ever more blurred, but if they’re producing content for an independent website (rather than for mainstream media) then they’re eligible. If you’re not sure which category your favourite falls into then nominate them for both and let us decide!

The FSF Fans’ Fanzine of the Year award – Is your club’s fanzine deserving of wider recognition? Are the writers capable of churning out page-upon-page of witty, informative and entertaining copy, yet still crazy enough to be standing out in all weathers to sell their wares? This can include online content as well, but a printed version must have been available during 2011/12 season to be eligible for the award and the publication must be club specific.

The FSF Fans’ Podcast of the Year award – It’s not all about words on a page, you know. Every week it seems a new podcast arrives on the scene and we want to know which ones have blown you away in the past year. *NEW AWARD*

The FSF Fans’ Book of the Year award – Hundreds of footy books are published every year but which ones deserve a special mention? This category is not open to public nominations but will be open to a public vote once our expert panel of leading football writers have shortlisted their six favourites. *NEW AWARD*

  • If you have any questions about the FSF Writers Awards 2012 (timelines, nominations processes, ticketing) then check out our Awards FAQs.

How are the winners decided? The Writer, Podcast, and Book awards will go to a public vote after shortlisting. The Newspaper, Blogger, Website, and Fanzine nominations will be reduced to a shortlist with the winner being decided by an FSF panel.

Join the FSF for free today from this link.

The Football Supporters’ Federation on Facebook.

Follow us on Twitter – @The_FSF

Related Articles

Nominations open for the 2021 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards in partnership with GambleAware are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open.

FSA Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The Football Supporters’ Association is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2021 FSA Awards in association with BeGambleAware – voting is open now, and fans can back their favourites here. 84 candidates will battle it out across 14 categories, recognising everything from the best players of 2021 to the best podcasts and fanzines.

FSA Awards 2021: Mohamed Salah wins Men’s Player of the Year Award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was crowned Men’s Player of the Year at the Football Supporters’ Association Awards in association with BeGambleAware, which took place tonight in London.

Nominations open for 2022 FSA Awards

The Football Supporters’ Association Awards in partnership with BeGambleAware are fast approaching, and we need your help once more in identifying the very best in the game – with nominations now open. Last year’s Awards sa

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball