Your basket

Join The FSA

2016 FSF Awards Shortlist announced – can Agüero win again?

This is a story from the FSF archive – the FSF and Supporters Direct merged to become the FSA in 2019 – so this page may contain hyperlinks that do not work and/or have missing files. Our archived pages are not maintained and will not be updated.

If you are seeking a document regarding training or the development of your supporters’ organisation, please visit the live training and resource section of our website. if you need further assistance email: [email protected]

The Football Supporters’ Federation is delighted to announce the shortlists for the 2016 FSF Awards in partnership with Virgin Media – fans can vote and have their say via

Seventy-two nominees will battle it out across 12 different categories including ‘Player of the Year’ featuring Sergio Agüero, Dele Alli, Philippe Coutinho, Riyad Mahrez, Mesut Özil and Dimitri Payet.

Agüero, the 2014 winner, becomes the first player to be shortlisted twice for FSF Player of the Year. Can Payet’s excellent form for club and country challenge title-winning Mahrez?

Sky Sports colleagues Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville, both previous FSF award winners, will once-again go head-to-head in the ‘Pundit of the Year’ category. Danny Higginbotham, Jermaine Jenas, Gary Lineker and Danny Murphy are up against the Monday Night Football pair.

This year’s awards are the first year that the FSF will be awarding a Women’s Player of the Year. Lucy Bronze (Man City), Karen Carney (Chelsea), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Sari Van Veenendaal (Arsenal), Jane Ross (Man City) and Jill Scott (Man City) make up the shortlist, compiled alongside leading women’s football magazine, Shekicks.

Other categories open to a public vote include Commentator of the Year, Newspaper of the Year, Podcast of the Year, Radio Show of the Year and Writer of the Year.

We’ll also be recognising the work Supporter Liaison Officers (SLO) do for fans across the country which often goes unnoticed. The SLO of the Year award highlights the best practice in supporter liaison in the Premier League and English Football League.

Kevin Miles, chief executive of the Football Supporters’ Federation, said: “Supporters are the bedrock of the professional game and the FSF Awards give fans the chance to have their say on the best in the game.

“Virgin Media one of the most fan-friendly sponsors – helping Twenty’s Plenty become a reality for fans visiting Southampton. We’re delighted that they are once again showing their support for fans and backing our awards.”

Lloyd Page, director of brand communications at Virgin Media said: 

“At Virgin Media, we believe that fans should be at the heart of football.

“Our partnership with the FSF is one of the most important ways for us to put our money where our mouth is, supporting initiatives that make that approach a reality.

“We’ve already seen great support for our Twenty’s Plenty campaign, in which we subsidise and cap away ticket prices at St Mary’s at £20 for 2016/17, and we’re delighted to strengthen our partnership by supporting the FSF Awards 2016.

“Uniquely, these awards give the fans a voice in celebrating success on and off the pitch and we are proud to be associated with that voice. We look forward to a great event, and wish all the nominees the best of luck.”

Nominees for FSF Awards 2016 in partnership with Virgin Media:

Men’s Player of the Year: Sergio Agüero, Dele Alli, Philippe Coutinho, Riyad Mahrez, Mesut Özil and Dimitri Payet

Women’s Player of the Year:  Lucy Bronze (Man City), Karen Carney (Chelsea), Aoife Mannion (Birmingham City), Sari Van Veenendaal (Arsenal), Jane Ross (Man City), Jill Scott (Man City)

Away Day of the Year: Bournemouth, Brighton and Hove Albion, Preston North End, Reading, Rotherham United, Southampton

Blogger of the Year: David Bauckham, Copa 90, Andrew Flint (These Football Times), Ian King (Two Hundred Percent), David Michael (My Old Man Said), Scott Salter (In Bed With Maradona)

Commentator of the Year: Ian Darke (BT Sport), Sam Matterface (talkSPORT), Conor McNamara (BBC), Guy Mowbray (BBC), John Murray (BBC), Martin Tyler (Sky Sports)

Newspaper of the Year: The Daily Mail, The Daily Mirror, The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian, The Non League Paper, The Times

Podcast of the Year: Arsecast, Athletico Mince, The Game, The Big Interview with Graham Hunter, The Guardian’s Football Weekly, The Football Ramble

Pundit of the Year: Jamie Carragher, Danny Higginbotham, Jermaine Jenas, Gary Lineker, Danny Murphy, Gary Neville

Radio Show of the Year: 606 (BBC 5Live), The Anfield Wrap (CityTalk 105.9), Hawksbee and Jacobs (talkSPORT), The Monday Night Club (BBC 5Live), Rock and Roll Football (Absolute Radio), The WSL Show (BBC 5Live)

Supporter Liaison Officer of the Year: Mark Brindle (Arsenal), Rob Coleman/Jackie Evans (Reading), Beverly Dyer/Dave Tomlinson (Crewe Alexandra), Dave Messenger (Watford), Jason Taylor/Ian Wadsworth (Wigan Athletic), Jonathan Waite (Tottenham Hotspur)

Writer of the Year: David Conn (Guardian), Owen Gibson (Guardian), Jonathan Liew (Telegraph), Iain Macintosh (ESPN), Daniel Storey (Football365), Henry Winter (Times)

How are the winners decided?

Nine categories (Commentator, Newspaper, both Players’ awards, Podcast, Pundit, Radio Show and Writer of the Year) will be decided by a public vote – vote here:

Three categories (Away Day, Fanzine and Supporter Liaison Officers of the Year) will be decided by an FSF panel.

Voting closes on Friday 25th November 2016 (noon). If you want your fanzine to be considered, please send us three copies by 15th November. 

The FSF Awards in association with Virgin Media take place on the evening of Monday 5th December 2016 at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel (London). Nominees will be invited and a limited number of tickets may go on general sale. Details to be confirmed via

Funding partners

  • The Football Association
  • Premier Leage Fans Fund


  • Gamble Aware
  • Co-operatives UK
  • FSE
  • Kick It Out
  • Level Playing Field
  • Living Wage Foundation
  • Pledgeball